NEWS: Eden Ahbez Compilation Album Released

Screen Shot 2014-08-10 at 6.21.01 PM

If you’ve ever wondered what Eden Ahbez’s other music, beyond “Nature Boy” and Eden’s Island, sounds like… now you can find out.

A new compilation of rare and previously-unreleased songs from the 1950s and ’60s has been compiled and released here:

http://www.dionysusrecords.com/shop/index.php?_a=product&product_id=3299

This vinyl-only offering is limited to 500 copies, so grab ’em up before they’re all gone.

5 thoughts on “NEWS: Eden Ahbez Compilation Album Released

  1. I ordered my copy yesterday. Thanks for the heads-up! Hopefully, this won’t be the last release we see from Eden Ahbez!

  2. I just ordered this and sent this note along – it might be of some interest here–

    I knew ahbe, his wife Anna and son Zoma when I was a kid in the late ’50s. He lived in Tujunga Cal then, and spent a lot of time at the beautiful “mid-century” glass and flagstone home of my dad’s friend, Don Foster (Foster and my dad were Warner Bros animators). Foster had a great swimming pool and we all swam naked and played at being bohemians, but the ahbez family was the real deal. I used to watch ahbe compose at a poolside table, humming and writing it down. He talked about a record he was making (Eden’s Island) and I’m sure some of what I watched him compose is also on this recording. Many Thanks!

    • Hi David,

      Thanks for sharing your memories. I hope you enjoy the album. It was truly a labor of love, but hopefully not the last word on ahbe’s rare and unreleased music. At least not if I have anything to say about it. If you’d care to contact me directly, my email is at the bottom of this blogsite. Know I’d be thrilled to talk by email, IM, Skype, phone or in person (depending on where you’re living currently).

      Yours,
      Brian Chidester

Leave a Reply

